Last week’s activities

Bittersweet game week last week, did some “finally” things — finally leveled my Mage, finally pulled the plug on my social guild, finally hit a gold goal, finally came up with an alt strategy I can live with.

Frostwolf Ghostpup

You gotta admit this is cute!

But first — I really do not do Archaeology as a profession, more by accident. In WoD, my activity consists exclusively of collecting artifacts only by what I can get while mining. My expectation is that every final artifact will be unusable junk. So I was astounded last week when I suddenly got this little guy, who looks pretty cool with Gara.

As I said, I finally leveled my mage, dinged 100 last night. Not really a fun alt to level, but that is just because I don’t have a good feel for how to play a mage. I tend to think of them as very squishy petless hunters, which of course leads to extremely bad play style. Some of the more challenging level quests I just refused to do, as they were too annoying for me. For example, after getting my little cloth butt kicked a couple of times by that first guy (Crushmaul?) in the Ring of Trials, I just abandoned that whole quest line, even though I was about a level above the normal point at which you get it. I was about 99 1/2. My hunters and lock just breezed through the whole thing at 98. Like I said, I don’t play a mage well at all.

I did a couple more quests, got to about 3-4 bars from 100 when I hit the Hemet Happy Hunting Grounds bonus quest. I ground through a few wolves, and was feeling pretty good about myself after downing both Lupe and Big Pete. I had one more wolf to go, and of course I inadvertently pulled a couple, along with some of those nasty Talbuks. It was touch and go, and then suddenly three things happened simultaneously: I died, I completed the bonus quest, and I dinged 100. My screen was a riot of warnings and colors. As soon as I rezzed, I hearthed back to my garrison and started the level 3 projects. I will have to go back and do the Pinchwhistle Gearworks quest line so I can get my salvage yard up and running, but after that I am done with mage questing until the next expansion!

I’ll save any comments about my gold goal and my alt strategy for another time.

The other big “finally” thing I did was leave my social guild. Even though, as I have written before, it has been teetering on the brink of extinction for a long time now, it was still a tough decision for me. I know that guilds are really just artificial social groupings in a computer game, but there are real people involved. I had been with this guild for almost five years, an officer for the last four of those years. I had raided with it twice a week nearly every week, organized activities, had “lively discussions” about guild direction in our officer meetings, looked after the care and feeding of the guild bank, had some great hilarious times and some not so great times. But even in cyberspace you grow close to some of those people after spending so much time with them.

In the end, though, I realized that what I love so much about this guild is what it used to be, not what it is. That is a very hard thing to see, and it takes you awhile to accept it even after you see it. All our recent recruitment attempts failed miserably. Most nights for the last few months I was one of maybe 1-3 people logged in. Hours would go by with no guild chat whatsoever. Raids only happened by having three guilds involved, and my own guildies comprised maybe 3 of a 12-15 person raid team. Even those teams were more like pugs, as it was really never the same group that appeared on a raid night, there were always key personnel swapping out.

Still, it was a tough decision to make. I wrote an extensive external email to the GM and to the raid leader explaining my decision. The GM was supportive and understanding, and the RL was a butthead. Like I said, you get to know people after 5 years, so neither reaction was a surprise to me.

It was the right decision, though. Already I can see a difference in my perception of the game, now that I don’t have those raid and guild responsibilities dragging me down and soaking up my play time. I feel like my time is much more my own, and I feel like I am once again starting to enjoy the game on my own terms.

Like I said, a bittersweet week.

About Fiannor
I have a day job but escape by playing WoW. I love playing a hunter, and my Lake Wobegonian goal is to become "above average" at it.

One Response to Last week’s activities

  1. Bittersweet indeed. It is not easy to make a move like leaving a guild, though I have done the same many times (I even left a server to get away from people!).
    But …. take that shiny mage and do the Orphan’s Week stuff. You’ll love porting around. Holidays are why I love my mage (who is really a bank alt and doesn’t do anything).

