Annoyances — petty and otherwise

You know how when you live with someone for a long time, all those little quirks you once thought were cute end up driving you batshit? That is how I feel about WoW. Overall, I still love the game, divorce is not on the horizon, but many of its little quirks lately just make me want to scream. And drink. Which is why it is a good thing it is the weekend.

Here is my current list:

  • Foofoo pets. Way too many of them have annoying noises or disgusting habits. Looking at you, Perky Pug. The first time I saw it scooting its butt along the ground then smelling it, I laughed. Now it just disgusts me, makes me not even want to eat my raid food. I hate its yappy little bark, the same way I hate that stupid LA-LA-LA daisy song or Li’l XT’s tantrum or any core hound roar. And buying costumes for pets — whether that nasty pug or Pepe — not only do I not do it, but I actively avoid anyone who insists on showing off their outfits.
  • In-your-face toys. I hate all those things people can throw at you and they land in your bag. I never throw them back or do anything with them except throw them out immediately. And while I am at it, what the hell was Blizz thinking when they instituted that stupid group train noise chant? Without a doubt, THE single most annoying “fun” mechanic in the history of the game.
  • In-your-face appearance changes. No, I do not wish to have a pumpkin head. No, I do not wish to have my lovely tall elegant night elf transformed into an ugly squat dwarf. No, I do not wish to look like a bunny. I do not wish to be made tiny or gigantic. Leave me alone, for crying out loud!
  • Birchus. It’s like living in a loft apartment with a Great Dane.
  • NPCs with the attention span of a gnat. I swear, if that stupid dwarf in my bunker says “Nice ta meet ya!” to me one more time….
  • Shipyards. Everything about them is annoying. Everything.
  • Weeds that attack you while you are being blissfully “immersed” riding through an area. Come on, Blizz, admit it, you did this solely to screw with us, right?
  • The bug that takes away your Trap Launcher every time you change a glyph. You cannot imagine how often I have forgotten about this and ignominiously dropped a trap at my own stupid feet when I was supposed to cc something for the raid.
  • Queue popping interrupts your meal. Any number of times I have waited in long LFR queues, then thinking I was getting close, started to eat a 125-stat meal in prep, and the queue pops before I get the buff, wasting a pretty expensive meal.
  • Nat Pagle. If that drunk tells me one more time that he would throw my fish back if it were him …..
  • Elevators. Inevitably they leave some of the raid behind and generally just waste time waiting for them.
  • Long runs back after wipes. There is just no reason for this. One word, Blizz: phased portals. Okay, that is two words, but you get the idea.
  • Uncontrollable bodyguards. These guys are downright dangerous if you are a specially squishy type. They run amuck where there are lots of mobs, aggroing everything in sight, killing themselves and probably you as a result.
  • Not being able to get all three dailies at the same time from that dude inT2. It’s just stupid to have to do one bonus objective by itself, then go all the way back to get the next dailies afterwards. Why not offer all three at once?
  • Tanks who start pull countdowns, then pull before it is finished. This totally messes up people’s cooldown timing and potion usage.
  • Tanks who do pull countdowns then don’t pull when it is finished. Meanwhile, DKs have popped Army, hunters have popped Stampede and Misdirection, etc.
  • People recruiting group players when they are ready to pull in less than a minute. Happens a lot with world bosses.
  • Still getting PvP-flagged for joining a group on a PvP server. I thought Blizz was going to fix this, but it happened to me a few days ago, and the flag stuck with me after I zoned back to my own PvE server.

Short post today, but it is Friday. Everyone have a good weekend.

About Fiannor
I have a day job but escape by playing WoW. I love playing a hunter, and my Lake Wobegonian goal is to become "above average" at it.

5 Responses to Annoyances — petty and otherwise

  1. Casually Odd says:

    I agree with so many of these (although I always hated the pug). And I enjoyed the tone as well 🙂

    The train is so odd…it’s like someone was getting laid off and really hated the players. That Blizzard keeps it around tells me a lot about their attitude. I know they have the train smasher toy, but yeah, hate.

    I also tire so greatly of Blizzard’s fascination with poop quests and jokes and images. We get it, we get it. It’s a wonder why they come across as a big boys club at times.

    • Fiannor says:

      LOL! Gotta agree about the boys club. I thought that the first time I went into the bait shack

      • Fiannor says:

        (Dang browser) … the first time I went into the bait shop at Nat Pagle’s place in Mists and saw the name of the NPC there. My first thought about the devs: “What are you, 12 years old?”

  2. Grumsta says:

    Thank you, made me smile on a grisly Monday morning 🙂

    The main one I’d add to the list: the female dwarf who has been ending every conversation with “Keep yer feet on the ground”. Annoying on so many levels I do not know where to start. Or stop. That is Blizz trolling us, isn’t it?

    Oh and when you drop a Rattling Cage off Doomroller and it gives you a mount you already have, you find it’s soulbound and has no re-sale value. What exactly was the point of that, Blizz?

    • Fiannor says:

      It does seem like Blizz getting back at us for whining all the time, although I suspect it is just something the devs thought would be clever or fun but failed to think about how it would go over after about 1000 repetitions. Kind of like your old great uncle stuck in the 70’s with his white belt and lounge lizard double knit bell bottom pants, who greets everyone with “Workin’ hard or hardly workin’?”