This. This is what makes me crazy.

imageOkay, I concede I may have had a natural running start on crazy, but the latest Blizz stunt definitely gave me a rocket boost.

What am I talking about? The current weekly bonus event, hyped as per usual a couple of days ago. No big thing, but I really could use some of the reward stuff — especially the oil — on a couple of my alts, and apexis crystals are always welcome. Not to mention the objectives are pretty much a walk in the park for my hunters. I should easily be able to crank this one out on lots of characters. So I thought.

Here was the initial announcement.

During the Sign of Apexis bonus event, you’ll gain bonus Apexis Crystals from eligible creatures. Furthermore, the event-only quest The Time to Strike rewards you with big piles of Apexis Crystals, Garrison Resources, and Oil when you completing five Apexis objectives.

Spending Apexis Crystals on gear upgrades can a great way to improve your overall item level. Visit Ravenspeaker Thelnaas in Tanaan Jungle to buy armor for 5,000 Crystals apiece, a weapon for 10,000 Crystals, and Empowered Apexis Fragments for 20,000 Crystals. Empowered Apexis Fragments are Battle.net Account-bound, and they upgrade your Baleful gear from ilvl 650 to ilvl 695.

Don’t forget these other collectibles:

Reins of the Corrupted Dreadwing mount (150,000 Apexis Crystals)
Rukhmar’s Sacred Memory toy (50,000 Apexis Crystals)
Blazing Firehawk pet (2,000 Apexis Crystals)
Solar Priest Vayx follower (1,000 Apexis Crystals)
Golden Visage of the Laughing Skull cosmetic head piece (1000 Apexis Crystals + 5000g)

What are you aiming to purchase with your Apexis windfall?

Sounds easy, right? Let me just grab the quest on my main and eligible alts and start grinding! So on Wednesday I did just that. My approach, which should not have mattered but which it turns out mattered immensely, was to get the quest, make my way to Tanaan, and crank out a couple of the quicker objectives, then hop to another character and do the same. Hey, I got all week to finish it.

On Thursday when I logged in to my healer, I noticed that instead of “2 of 5” events completed, my quest log showed “0 of 5”. Huh? In guild chat, I asked if anyone knew whether the events all had to be completed in a single day in order to get credit, but of course that would be silly given it was a weekly bonus event. No one had heard such a thing, but then they started checking and of course all their characters with the  uncompleted quest were also showing 0 of 5 completed even if they had done a couple previously. And they were not getting credit for the ones they did even as we spoke.

Obviously the quest was bugged. A quick search showed that Blizz was indeed aware of the bug and had hotfixed it. Herewith the entire announcement about it:

[Hotfix in progress] A Time to Strike: Fixed an issue that could cause quest credit to not be credited correctly after completing an Apexis objective.

Now, first off, let me timidly suggest that possibly someone at Blizz should have tested the quest before it went live, but of course we know that their quality control philosophy over the last year has been “Test, shmest. That’s so tedious to do, and besides, the players will let us know if it doesn’t work.” So it would be silly to think they had actually tested it in advance.

No, the lack of testing is not what drives me crazy. I have come to expect that.

After the hotfix was posted, I logged off the game completely and restarted, confident that my event completions would be restored. Nope. So then I figured, well the ones I do from now on will count. I did a couple, and guess what? Nope, they did not count either. Hmmm, I said to myself, the fix must not have worked yet. Off I go to submit a ticket, where I was informed that that service “was not available.” Now I am starting to do a slow burn, so I submitted a bug report, which was “available”, but of course I am expecting zero response.

Finally, in desperation, I began to look at the customer “service” forums. Imagine my surprise when I found a blue post buried in one of the threads that informed everyone that the way the hotfix had worked, you have to drop the quest, reacquire it, and start everything all over again. (!!!!!) So all my efforts on multiple alts was pretty much wasted, at least in terms of progress towards the decent rewards.

And yet, even this clumsy fix is not what makes me crazy.

What makes me crazy is Blizz’s completely incompetent and dismissive attitude about communicating with their players even when the players clearly need the information in order to play the game. Would it have killed them to put the start-over information in the hotfix announcement? Yes, I would have still been annoyed, but at least I would not have wasted a couple of hours trying to figure out what was going on. Which of the inmates is running their customer disservice asylum these days? It does not take an advanced degree in Communications to think maybe — just maybe — the information about exactly how to debug the quest might be important to players.

GAAAAAAAHHHHHHH!

I should actually thank Blizz for their reliable ineptness, because it consistently gives me an excellent excuse to start my weekends early. Blizz, this Bud’s for you!

About Fiannor
I have a day job but escape by playing WoW. I love playing a hunter, and my Lake Wobegonian goal is to become "above average" at it.

Comments are closed.