October cheer

We have been having a fantastic run of picture-perfect weather in Northern Virginia. Sunny, dry days with beautiful blue skies, temps in the 70’s, and leaves just beginning to take on their gorgeous reds and yellows and rusty brown hues. You couldn’t possibly order up better weather. As I write this, I am sitting on the deck taking it all in. We are lucky enough to live in the woods, our deck is high off the ground surrounded by trees on 3 sides, and it reminds me of the tree house I always wished I had when I was a kid.

I have no game-related topic for today, just a couple of big-picture observations. In spite of what you may think if you read my blog regularly, I am a happy, good-natured person. Even if I am not lucky in the game, I have been amazingly lucky in the Great Life Lottery, and on days like this, when the exquisite beauty of the world just kind of comes up and smacks you in the face, I realize how very fortunate I am. I came through a military career including two combat deployments largely unscathed, I have a wonderful spouse who is also my best friend, I live in a country that enjoys peace and freedom and prosperity, and I now make a living indulging my creative and artistic side. I have served, I have loved, I have created — what could be better than that?

So when I write about WoW, I do it from a platform of luxury, from a recognition that it is just a game that I am fortunate enough to be in a position to play. In the grand scheme of things, it is less than a particle in a mote in a drop in a vast ocean on a huge planet in a near-infinite universe.

It is not a perfect game, but being able to play it is perfect. I frequently rant about it, but the fact that I have written hundreds of thousands of words about it and spent hours playing it can only mean that I love it. Sooner or later it will disappear, the victim of inevitable technological and social change, but I am not anxious for that time to come. When I slap Blizz up side the head it is because I see them doing things that I think will hasten the game’s demise, and I don’t want that to happen.

As I wrote a couple of months ago, we are in a very slow news period for the game. Certainly this post lends credence to that! Didn’t really plan to wax philosophical on you, but hey, it’s October and it’s beautiful and I am in a reflective mood.

About Fiannor
I have a day job but escape by playing WoW. I love playing a hunter, and my Lake Wobegonian goal is to become "above average" at it.

4 Responses to October cheer

  1. I’m blessed with mountains to the East. The sunrise can fill my soul. Thank your for your generous blog.
    I think with, as you say, the inevitable advances that WoW will move into history. I, for one, will be proud to say “I was there.” I was there when millions of people played the same game; a game of fantasy and lore, of fighting and finding love. It is a cultural … something, I can’t describe it since it has never happened before.
    I can wish that I lived in a time before television when people met at the opera and theater. People come together for surprising things!

    • Fiannor says:

      It is remarkable when you think about it — millions of people playing the same game, having a shared common experience. It is kind of a cultural singularity.

  2. Grumsta says:

    Lovely post to end the week with šŸ™‚

    Yes it’s a great game, and with a few (relatively) minor changes it would be better still. We rant because we care.

    Enjoy your weekend, see you on the other side.