Timewalking — still fun

Last night when I logged on I was astounded to see a double-digit number of guildies on, after months of maybe 3-4 at any given time. And people were actually engaged in the game, not just logging on to check some garrison work orders or run a quick weekly ring quest. There was chatter, questions and observations about various aspects of the patch, and just general socializing.

We put together a couple of guild groups running Timewalking dungeons. I always liked the Cata dungeons (most of them), so I was predisposed to like this TW event, and I was not disappointed. I ran it on my main for the valor, so none of the gear was useful, but I still enjoyed it. (No one got the mount.) And the 500 valor quest reward allowed me to fully upgrade a third piece of gear.

I didn’t do much gear switching before we started, but I did haul my legendary cape out of mothballs and donned it. I always thought the blue wing effect for it was kind of hokey — and I still thought so last night — but I had forgotten how much fun the actual damage proc visual was for hunters. It made you feel like you were actually doing some special damage, like you were really getting a decent benefit from completing that long quest line. Even though the proc was passive and thus not something you controlled, it still felt like you were personally contributing something special to the group. Not like this crappy ring, almost always controlled by someone else, and with close to zero visual effect except for a tiny flash of light at the end, which is usually obscured by all the other fight visuals.

I ran the Cata dungeons so often when they were current that I thought I would remember every detail of them for years, but I was surprised last night when I found I had forgotten some crucial mechanics for a couple of bosses. I actually died in the final boss in Vortex Pinnacle, because while I remembered to jump during static cling, I completely forgot about getting into the lightning triangle when he casts his big AoE. I was a bit embarrassed.

Not as embarrassed as I was, though, when I stupidly caused a wipe in Lost City of the Tol’vir by pulling every mob in sight when I failed to properly calculate my firing angle for Barrage. A split second into it I realized my mistake and stopped the channel, but it was too late. Noob hunter mistake, I am ashamed to admit. I apologized to the group, and since it was a guild group they laughed at me and made fun of me instead of kicking me. So nice to be among friends!

I was hoping to run End Time, but we didn’t draw it, nor did we get Grim Batol. Instead we got the other three plus Vortex Pinnacle twice. No worries, I’m sure I’ll get a chance at those two sooner or later this week as I run the TW quest on some alts.

All in all, I still think Blizz has a hit with the whole Timewalking concept. Sometimes I think it would be better if they were available all the time instead of just every few weeks, but then I suspect they would lose their fun and become just another grind. I do think it might be cool, though, if you could select which set of TW dungeons you want to run when TW comes up in the bonus event rotation. Not a big deal, but it might be kind of a fun tweak at some point in the future.

Anyway, last night was fun. It was terrific to be playing the game again within the social structure that drew me to it in the first place. It was a warm and welcomely familiar experience, like coming home after a long trip and getting hugged. I don’t know how long it will last, but it sure was a good feeling.

 

 

About Fiannor
I have a day job but escape by playing WoW. I love playing a hunter, and my Lake Wobegonian goal is to become "above average" at it.

One Response to Timewalking — still fun

  1. Grumsta says:

    We have run a fair few mythic dungeons in guild, and the buzz has been lovely to see, exactly as you describe.

    I only started playing late in MoP so these TW dungeons will be “new” to me. I have visited them all, but only for rep grinding or pet hunting when at max level, so I didn’t really pay much attention to what was needed in the fights.

    Hopefully I can get some guildies together tonight to get 500 more Valor and a chance at the mount, it will top off a great week in the game for me 🙂