Well, that was easy

A few days ago I decided a couple of my alts needed some bigger bags. Not necessarily the 30-slot hex weave bags, but maybe a few nice 22-slot embersilk bags. Being somewhat flush with gold these days, and also somewhat lazy, my first thought was to just buy them in the AH. Well, on my server they were going for about 400 gold each and even though I have a fair amount of gold lying around I didn’t get it by flinging away that much for some non-current bags and such. (And yes I am cheap cheap cheap, I admit it. One of my guildies once remarked that copper wire was invented by me pinching and squeezing every copper I can lay my hands on in the game…a tad unkind but definitely not completely untrue.)

Anyway, I have a tailor, so what the heck I thought, I’ll just whip me up a few of those bad boy embersilk bags.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

When I was a child, one of my favorite story books was called The Old Woman and Her Pig. The old woman came into some money and decided she would buy a pig with it. The story centers around the fact that while driving the pig home from the market she came across a stile (kind of an over ramp that lets people cross a fence), and the pig refused to go over it. As she could not lift the pig, and as she had to get past the fence to get home, the story is pretty much her going through a maddening series of deals to get various creatures to do things that would result in the pig being forced over the stile. As it is fairly short, and as some of you may be in need of a new story for your children (although I suppose it is a tiny bit gory and violent for modern children), I quote it here:

An old woman was sweeping her house, and she found a little crooked sixpence. “What,” said she, “shall I do with this little sixpence? I will go to market, and buy a little pig.”
As she was coming home, she came to a stile. But the piggy wouldn’t go over the stile.

She went a little further, and she met a dog. So she said to him, “Dog! Dog! Bite pig. Piggy won’t go over the stile; and I shan’t get home tonight.” But the dog wouldn’t.

She went a little further, and she met a stick. So she said, “Stick! Stick! Beat dog! Dog won’t bite pig; piggy won’t get over the stile; and I shan’t get home tonight.” But the stick wouldn’t.

She went a little further, and she met a fire. So she said, “Fire! Fire! Burn stick. Stick won’t beat dog; dog won’t bite pig; piggy won’t get over the stile; and I shan’t get home tonight.” But the fire wouldn’t.

She went a little further, and she met some water. So she said, “Water! Water! Quench fire. Fire won’t burn stick; stick won’t beat dog; dog won’t bite pig; piggy won’t get over the stile; and I shan’t get home tonight.” But the water wouldn’t.

She went a little further, and she met an ox. So she said, “Ox! Ox! Drink water. Water won’t quench fire; fire won’t burn stick; stick won’t beat dog; dog won’t bite pig; piggy won’t get over the stile; and I shan’t get home tonight.” But the ox wouldn’t. She went a little further and she met a butcher. So she said, “Butcher! Butcher! Kill ox. Ox won’t drink water; water won’t quench fire; fire won’t burn stick; stick won’t beat dog; dog won’t bite pig; piggy won’t get over the stile; and I shan’t get home tonight.” But the butcher wouldn’t.

She went a little further, and she met a rope. So she said, “Rope! Rope! Hang butcher. Butcher won’t kill ox; ox won’t drink water; water won’t quench fire; fire won’t burn stick; stick won’t beat dog; dog won’t bite pig; piggy won’t get over the stile; and I shan’t get home tonight.” But the rope wouldn’t.

She went a little further, and she met a rat. So she said, “Rat! Rat! Gnaw rope. Rope won’t hang butcher, butcher won’t kill ox; ox won’t drink water; water won’t quench fire; fire won’t burn stick; stick won’t beat dog; dog won’t bite pig; piggy won’t get over the stile; and I shan’t get home tonight.” But the rat wouldn’t.

She went a little further, and she met a cat. So she said, “Cat! Cat! Kill rat. Rat won’t gnaw rope; rope won’t hang butcher; butcher won’t kill ox; ox won’t drink water; water won’t quench fire; fire won’t burn stick; stick won’t beat dog; dog won’t bite pig; piggy won’t get over the stile; and I shan’t get home tonight.”

But the cat said to her, “If you will go to yonder cow, and fetch me a saucer of milk, I will kill the rat.” So away went the old woman to the cow.

But the cow said to her, “If you will go to yonder haystack, and fetch me a handful of hay, I’ll give you the milk.” So away went the old woman to the hay-stack; and she brought the hay to the cow.

As soon as the cow had eaten the hay, she gave the old woman the milk; and away she went with it in a saucer to the cat.

As soon as the cat had lapped up the milk, the cat began to kill the rat; the rat began to gnaw the rope; the rope began to hang the butcher; the butcher began to kill the ox; the ox began to drink the water; the water began to quench the fire; the fire began to burn the stick; the stick began to beat the dog; the dog began to bite the pig; the little pig in a fright jumped over the stile; and so the old woman got home that night.

Now you may ask, Fia why are your reciting children’s stories to us?

Well, because honestly this story is a perfect allegory for crafting in WoW. One does not simply take the pig home from market. One does not simply craft useful items. Oh no. One must assemble an entire inventory of materials, each of which is in turn dependent on another inventory of sub-materials, which themselves involve a significant amount of farming. Starting from scratch, here is my tale of embersilk bags:

An embersilk bag requires 15 bolts of embersilk and 15 hypnotic dusts. I wanted to make just 4 bags, so that is 60 of each mat. Forget buying the mats in the AH, they are too pricey for me (see above scrooge tendencies), but no sweat I have all the gatherers, crafters, disenchanters I need in order to gather the required mats lickety-split, right?

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. Oh, I really crack myself up sometimes.

Anyway, I started with the hypnotic dust. Rather than try and kill mobs to get loot that may or may not DE into hypnotic dust, I thought I have a JC, I will just craft some appropriate level necks and rings and such and send them to my enchanter, DE them quickly and be done. (Bad idea, btw, but live and learn.)

This required me to find some of the cheap cata gems, from prospecting elementium ore. So I spent about an hour gathering ore in Uldum, prospecting it, making a few pieces, and mailing them and doing the DE. Didn’t get quite enough dust, but I thought maybe I might get the rest by DE-ing the loot from the mobs that would drop the embersilk cloth, which I needed 300 of in order to make the 60 bolts for the bags. (In fact, I would have gotten all the dust I needed from that, did not need to try and craft stuff for deliberate DE. *sigh*)

Someone in a forum recommended that before I start farming in Tol Barad for the cloth, I first get myself a few Potions of Treasure Finding, as they really helped. Of course, once again I saw that they were close to 400g each in our AH, no way was I going to pay that when I have a perfectly good druid alchemist who could make them. I didn’t have any of the required cata herbs, and there weren’t actually any for sale in the AH, so I thought I would swoop around on my druid — who is also an herb gatherer — for a few minutes and grab them up.

Two hours later, hands cramped from gripping the mouse and eyes strained from trying to find tiny little dim herb icons in 3 different zones, I finally had enough herbs to craft 15 potions. No, I did not need 15 for my TB killing spree, but I figured as long as I was going to the trouble of making the pots I may as well make some extras to sell.

Sent the potions to my hunter to use while killing mobs in Tol Barad. And I must say they were indeed very useful, but it still took me over 2 hours to gather the required 300 embersilk cloths.

So, to recap, after over 5 hours of grinding: miner got ore for prospecting, jewelcrafter made gear from prospected gems, enchanter got dust from crafted gear, druid got herbs for potion, hunter got potion from druid, hunter killed mobs for cloth, enchanter got more dust from looted gear from cloth mobs, tailor made bags, alts got more space.

Yeah. That was easy.

Next time I try to save a few hundred gold, please do me a favor and give me a good swift kick.

 

About Fiannor
I have a day job but escape by playing WoW. I love playing a hunter, and my Lake Wobegonian goal is to become "above average" at it.

4 Responses to Well, that was easy

  1. What a great story!

  2. Bodhi Rana says:

    A while back, I learned a similar lesson. So my threshold for fake-money/real-time spent has shifted considerably towards spending a lot more of the fake-money.

