Tempus fugit and the ECOD

I have been spending time lately doing some farming in preparation for Legion, and also trying to do what I can to increase the gear levels of my alts. My thought on the farming is it is easier now to gather mats I might need for transmog sales, classic enchants, and other facets of Legion. Plus, it is a nice break, laid back and kind of fun and relaxing. Or it would be, if I were not obsessing about all the other unreached goals I have set myself.

My thought on the alts is that the better geared they are the easier it will be to level them up through the first few levels in Legion. I think this will be important mainly because of the requirement to quest in order to level up professions, which of course in turn means I will need to pursue at least the initial quests for baseline artifact weapons on each just to have a usable weapon to quest for professions.

But in the process of doing these activities, I find that there is not nearly enough time to do what I want to do. Like many of you, I have a day job, family and social responsibilities, and other hobbies and interests. Even though I sometimes feel like I spend too much time playing WoW, it amounts to maybe 3 hours a night, call it a tad over 20 hours a week. Take out one night a week when I raid with my guild for 3 hours, and the time available for other game activities shrinks to well under 20 hours.

I decided to get a legendary ring on most of my alts. I already have it on my main and three alts and am part way through on two others. (Mage is not in the running for it, I am just too awful at playing a Mage, doubt if I could even pass the silver proving grounds, much less do the initial heroic dungeons without getting kicked multiple times. Mage exists for inscription profession, that’s about it.) So gathering the succession of various tokens and runes and whatnot takes up several hours a week. I still have not maxed out the ring’s ilevel on my main, so I try to run a full HFC LFR every week for the valor, which takes at least 2 hours, sometimes more. I used to run the weekly events, but I found they just take too much additional time for relatively small benefit, so I have pretty much stopped doing that.

I still run garrison missions and keep up with a few profession huts in my garrisons on all my alts, mainly to help build my stash of gold as much as possible before Legion. And of course the alts still working on their rings need to do shipyard missions, which in turn requires running the dailies in Tanaan for the oil and some minimal rep. All this takes time every night.

My estimate of time I would need to ideally do what I want to do every week is:

  • Garrison activities (follower and shipyard missions, minimal herb harvesting and profession crafting, turning in salvage crates a couple of times a week) on 7 characters — average 10 minutes per character x 7 characters = 1 hour 10 minutes daily or a tad over 8 hours a week.
  • LFR once a week on main and several alts, for valor and/or ring quest items — average (best case) 2 hours per character x estimated 4 characters = 8 hours per week.
  • Raid one night per week with guild = 3 hours per week.
  • Tanaan dailies, about an hour each on 2 alts = 14 hours per week.
  • Run Kazzak once a week on 7 characters, call it 15 minutes per character = about 2 hours.
  • Farming old content for Legion prep or just funsies — call it 30 minutes a night on alternating characters, usually two per night = 7 hours per week.
  • Miscellaneous admin duties such as bank and auction house functions, vendoring trash and repairing, etc. = maybe an hour per week.

Adding all this up comes to well over 40 hours per week. And I really only can usually manage about 20 hours per week. Which means something has to, and does, give. Typically what happens is I do my garrison stuff on 2-3 rotating characters per night, manage maybe a total of 2 LFR runs in a week, do Tanaan dailies more like every other day on one character, show up for raid, and squeeze in anything else in the time remaining.

Honestly, I don’t understand people who claim there is “nothing to do” in this game towards the end of an expansion. Maybe they don’t have any alts, or maybe they only care about raiding as a game activity, or maybe they can afford to spend 40 or more hours a week playing, who knows. All I know is that I seem to get more frazzled as the expansion goes on. Which is why I seldom care if a new expansion is delayed. In fact, I think I would be perfectly happy if every expansion lasted two years, minimum.

In any organization that deals with data and information, there is a concept of “cutoff time” — that point at which the data for a report becomes fixed, a point after which new information will not be included but instead saved for the next report cycle. In my corner of the military, we called one such concept the ICOD (Intelligence Cut Off Date).

I think I have pretty much reached my cutoff time for WoD, call it my ECOD (Expansion Cut Off Date). I need to establish my final no-kidding “must-do” list for WoD, concentrate on that until it is done, then completely abandon new  goals in this expansion and instead focus solely on preps for the next one. I think that “must-do” list will be simply to complete my ring on my last two alts. I will declare ECOD for my main’s and major alts’ ilevels as well as for my gold quantity. I will expend my remaining WoD profession cooldowns however I can; DE all that Baleful gear in my banks; sell off my excess pots, flasks, and other consumables; clear out the other useless junk in my banks and bags; make sure all my characters have max size bags in packs and bank slots; and use up any currency I have such as Apexis Crystals, Honor, Valor, garrison resources, etc.

Yes, that may leave a couple of months before Legion and hopefully before the pre-patch. I will use that time to organize all my bank and bag slots for Legion categories, farm and craft legacy mats for Legion use, and pursue some of the dungeon- and world-drop crafting recipes on my tailor, LW, engineer, and JC. I will also make sure I have the Shado-Pan rep needed on my Enchanter, so as to be able to pick up the Shado-Pan Illusion enchantment recipe as quickly as possible in Legion.

Last, I hope to have at least a couple of weeks if not a month to organize my main and alts after the pre-patch — reconfigure all their action bars, do some target dummy and actual group practice with the new spells and rotations, re-do addons like Weakauras and Healbot, and make my decision as to whether or not I will still main a hunter in Legion.

Momentous weeks ahead. Tempus fugit. Sed fugit interea, fugit inreparabile tempus. (For those of you not privileged to have studied Latin: Time flies. But meanwhile it is lost, irretrievable time is lost. My own loose translation.)

About Fiannor
I have a day job but escape by playing WoW. I love playing a hunter, and my Lake Wobegonian goal is to become "above average" at it.

2 Responses to Tempus fugit and the ECOD

  1. For me, I think it is close enough to the pre-expansion patch to start saving my Salvage Crates until then — opening them and sending to my plate/leather/mail/cloth wearers to expand my wardrobe tab. Am I crazy?

    • Fiannor says:

      I’ve pretty much been doing that all along, looking at every item and deciding if it is something an alt might use for transmog. Of course, that particular method has resulted in full void storage and stuffed banks for all my alts…. I am thinking your plan is a better one.