World quests = Dailies with a new name

I have been running quite a few world quests lately, and the more I do them, the more I realize they are just Mists of Pandaria dailies prettied up a bit. There are a few differences and improvements, sure, but basically these are gating mechanisms for rep, which in turn is a gating mechanism for profession advancement, gear (mainly in the form of chasing AP for an artifact), and other end game activities. This, of course, is exactly what Mists dailies were.

There was a good deal of complaining about the Mists dailies, and Blizz did their typical over-reaction in WoD, where for many months we had zero dailies. Now, it seems the pendulum has done another huge arc and we are back to the Mists model. True, I eventually found the Mists dailies to be a grind, but in general I didn’t mind them. At least I knew if I kept at them that I could achieve certain goals — earn tokens to trade for reasonable gear, get a nice mount, eventually get profession recipes I wanted, etc. And, refreshingly, achieving these goals was not dependent on blind random luck, it was a function of how much effort I put into the game. (Effort results in reward, what a concept.) Also, the Mists dailies were an activity I could do on all my alts once they hit max level, no need for them to have a certain gear level, no need for me to have much beyond basic proficiency with them. And they had the added bonus of giving me a quick way to maintain and even improve some of my alt skills without having to take them into time commitments like LFR or actually try to do instances or raids with them.

So when I say that Legion World Quests are essentially a rework of Mists dailies, I don’t mean that in a negative way, I am just pointing out that they are the same game mechanisms. Blizz gave them a new name so as to spare some players the apparent trauma of reminding them of Mists, and they vary them a bit more, but it’s the same activity. And I suspect we will soon see players complain about being forced to grind them every day, there will be whining about “burnout”.

The ultimate success or failure of World Quests will, in large measure, depend on how well Blizz is able vary them, and on how well they will be able to keep them relevant once people have all the profession recipes, artifact power, and rep they need/want. There are a couple of ways they could go about this. One would be to offer paths to new types of rewards — perhaps a token or coin system redeemable for mounts or pets, or maybe a Mythic+ key, or gear enhancements such as unique gems or enchants  (of course, at the risk of enraging crafters who like to sell such items), etc. The other way to keep WQs relevant is less exciting, and merely consists of adding more of the same for rewards — continually adding new profession recipes, even more AP for an ever-expanding artifact tree, a couple new factions that require a whole new set of rep, etc.

One thing I do not expect to see is a continuing relevancy of gear as WQ rewards. There are already huge whines from self-styled “hardcores” deploring the “welfare gear” from WQs, and let’s face it, Blizz has a history of catering to these snivellers. (I have never understood the zero-sum mentality of “If you get decent gear, it takes away from my fantastic awesome achievement in getting lucky in a raid and tragically makes me less of a special snowflake,” but that is another subject entirely.) I have noticed already that the Emissary quest rewards seem to be getting stingier and stingier.

So for now I am dutifully doing my Mists dailies World Quests, and I don’t mind them because I can see progress towards some game goals. But they are becoming a bit grindy, and — absent some pretty significant new incentives — I can see them within a couple of months becoming an alts-only activity for me.

About Fiannor
I have a day job but escape by playing WoW. I love playing a hunter, and my Lake Wobegonian goal is to become "above average" at it.

3 Responses to World quests = Dailies with a new name

  1. gnomecore says:

    I like the pacing of world quests. Of course you could do every quest you see, but those ‘do four and get a faction reward’ somehow dictates your schedule. A good thing also is that you can complete quests for one faction, and a new one doesn’t appear at once. It gives me the feeling of an achievement, not a transporter belt.
    I find it much more amusing to do one current 4-quest meta in a day, not more. Just four quests by my choice, and I’m good, happy, and not feeling grindy or tired.
    Can’t complain about variety or grinding. Every corner in Broken Isles is used for world quests, and grind requirements are surprisingly soft: it’s never kill-me-12, but rather kill-me-6 and so on.
    It’s the best daily system ever. Surely it’s gating to some point, but we couldn’t imagine we could select a daily quest based on reward we want to get. One day I’m spotting a trinket which is a 30 ilvl improvement to my current one, and I go there for a simple 4-minute routine.

  2. Grumsta says:

    There’s currently enough variety in the WQs for me to enjoy them. Compared with their equivalent in Tanaan Jungle they are far more varied, interesting and repeatable.

    I’m not a great fan of the Kirin Tor “puzzles” but I’ve got the hang of them and being able to choose which rep you get at the end is useful.

    Professions and RNG are my two main issues with Legion currently, but I’ll save my thoughts on those for when you’re doing a post on that subject.