This game we play

It is a sodden, dark, wind-driven rainy day today in Virginia. For much of my adult life such a day would have meant my job as a soldier would be just that much more challenging. Now that I have left off being a soldier, on days like this I can sit inside, warm and cozy and sipping fresh brewed coffee, watching the wind whip the bare trees and the river outside my window. I can contemplate life leisurely, abstractly, rather than –cold and wet — do my best to survive its rapid and sometimes terrifying barrage of events. I am profoundly thankful for this, and I understand what an incredible privilege it is to be able to do so.

So it is in this contemplative mood that I consider this game of Warcraft we play. Last night as I sat down to spend a few hours with it, I actually sighed in contentment, there was a palpable feeling of weight being lifted off my shoulders. I do not mean to imply that I live a burdensome life of worry, but all of us carry around our grown-up responsibilities, and any chance we get to set them down for a bit is welcome. Like coming home after a long day on your feet and kicking off your shoes. Ahhhhh……

I am actually not sure where I am going with this, but I guess my point is that I feel extremely lucky to be able to play this game, to have the leisure and technological infrastructure to do so. I would certainly be fine if it were not available to me, but since it is, I spend a big part of my leisure time playing it. For all my hundreds of thousands of words dissecting it, criticizing it, complaining about the minutiae of it, the fact is I love playing it. When I have discharged my grown-up duties for the day and sit down to log in, I feel like I am coming home after a long trip.

WoW is a complex game, but its basic idea is very simple: Good versus Evil. Support the Good, kill the Evil. There are seldom any gray areas in the game, characters you meet are either friends or enemies. This is the heart of the game’s attraction for me. I get plenty of nuance in real life, thank you very much, and it is a relief to spend a few hours in a world where everything is clearly defined. (In fact, I think that is the reason I am not happy with the whole Legion Suramar design and quest lines — too conflicted with the whole notion of enabling addiction to make the burden of tyranny bearable.)

I am sure in my next post I will be back to blasting Blizz about one thing or another, but today I am grateful to them for creating and continuing to develop this extraordinary diversion.

And now, time to go shape some mud into useful vessels, and maybe throw another log onto the fire and brew up some more coffee. I am SO lucky!

 

About Fiannor
I have a day job but escape by playing WoW. I love playing a hunter, and my Lake Wobegonian goal is to become "above average" at it.

4 Responses to This game we play

  1. gnomecore says:

    I think that the withered are an excellent reminder to Blood Elves of who they really are without mana income. Must give them shivers.

    Suramar is not that complex imo. It’s a classic commoner rebel/evil aristocrats scheme, and it works of course.

  2. There is always a time for another cup of coffee!

  3. Demonnick001 says:

    Loved this post! I absolutely adore the feeling of sitting inside with a warm beverage on a blustery day.

